You are here: Apps and Entertainment > Camera and Video > Camera Options > Live Broadcast

Live Broadcast

Share what is happening around you via YouTube.

To access the Live Broadcast:

  1. From home, tap Apps all apps icon > Camera camera icon.
  • The camera viewfinder appears.
  1. Swipe to the right and tap Live broadcast.

Note: You need to sign in to your Google Account and enable Live Broadcast in your YouTube settings to use this feature.

Live Broadcast Options

The following options are available:

  • camera selection icon Rear/Front: Choose which camera to record from.
  • invite icon Invite: Invite contacts to view your live broadcast by sending them a link.
  • broadcast settings icon Settings: Set your privacy settings, Video size, Auto save, and manage your account.
  • record broadcast icon Live: Start recording your live broadcast.
  • share broadcast icon Share: Share while recording your live broadcast.
  • stop broadcast icon Stop: End your live broadcast.

Record a Live Broadcast

Record and instantly share your videos to YouTube.

  1. From home, tap Apps all apps icon > Camera camera icon.
  • The camera viewfinder appears.
  1. Swipe to the right and tap broadcast.
  2. Tap Invite invite icon and select contacts to share your live broadcast with. You will also have the option to share your live broadcast during recording and when you finish recording.
  3. Tap Live record broadcast icon to begin recording.
  4. When you are finished, tap Stop stop broadcast icon.

Share a Broadcast

You can share your live broadcast with contacts before recording, or share the link after you have finished recording and it has been posted to YouTube.

To invite contacts:

  1. From home, tap Apps all apps icon > Camera camera icon.

    screenshot of camera (landscape)
  • The camera viewfinder appears.
  1. Swipe to the right and tap Live broadcast.
  2. Tap Invite invite icon and select contacts or groups to share your live broadcast with.
  3. Tap Save to send invites.

To share a Live broadcast while broadcasting:

  • Tap Share share broadcast icon and select a sharing method to share your Live broadcast.

To share a Live broadcast after broadcasting:

  • After recording, tap Share link and select a sharing method to share your Live broadcast.

Live Broadcast Settings

Customize your Live Broadcasts.

  1. From home, tap Apps all apps icon > Camera camera icon.

    screenshot of camera (landscape)
  • The camera viewfinder appears.
  1. Swipe to the right and tap Live broadcast.
  2. Tap Settings broadcast settings icon and select an option to customize:
  • Account: Select a Google Account for Live broadcast.
  • Privacy: Choose either to have your videos unlisted where only friends with a link can view them, or public where anyone can view them.
  • Video size: Tap to choose a size option.
  • Social media settings: Share your link with social media when you start broadcasting.
  • Auto save: Tap to enable auto saving your videos to the Gallery app.
  • Auto dim: Dims the brightness if you broadcast without touching the screen.
  • Add shortcut on Home screen: Tap to create a shortcut to Live broadcast on the Home screen.