You are here: Getting Started > Basic Operations > Google Account > Factory Reset Protection

Factory Reset Protection

When you sign in to a Google Account on your device, Factory Reset Protection is turned on. Factory Reset Protection (FRP) prevents other people from using your device if it is reset to factory settings without your permission. For example, if your device is lost or stolen and a factory data reset is performed, only someone with your Google Account username and password can use the device.

You will not be able to access the device after a factory data reset if you do not have your Google Account username and password. For more information, see Factory Data Reset.

Caution: Before shipping your device back to Samsung or taking it to your nearest Samsung‑authorized service center, you should remove your Google Account before resetting the device back to factory settings. For more information, visit samsung.com/us/support/frp.

Enable Factory Reset Protection

Adding a Google Account to your device automatically turns on the Factory Reset Protection (FRP) security feature.

Disable Factory Reset Protection

To disable FRP, remove all Google Accounts from the device.

  1. From home, tap Apps all apps icon > Settings settings app icon.
  2. Tap Clouds and accounts accounts settings icon > Accounts > Google.
  3. Tap More options options icon > Remove account.