You are here: Settings > Personal Settings > Cloud and Accounts > Backup and Restore

Backup and Restore

Your phone’s Backup and restore menu lets you back up your phone’s data and settings to Google servers before resetting your phone to the original factory settings. The Factory data reset erases all data from the phone’s application storage, including:

  • Your Samsung account
  • Your Google Account
  • All other email and social networking accounts
  • System and application data and settings
  • Downloaded applications

Backup and Restore Overview

The following options are available in the Backup and restore menu:

Backup and restore Option

Description

Back up my data

Enable backup for application data, Wi-Fi passwords, and other settings to your Samsung account.

Restore

When reinstalling an application, backed up settings and data will be restored from your Samsung account.

Back up my data

Enable backup for application data, Wi-Fi passwords, and other settings to your Google Account.

Backup account

Select the Google Account used to back up data.

Automatic restore

When reinstalling an application, backed up settings and data will be restored from your Google Account.

  • Performing a factory data reset erases all data on the phone. It is recommended that you back up important data before performing a factory data reset.
  • Erased information cannot be restored. Only erase data after you are sure you have saved everything you need.

Access Backup and Restore Options

  1. From home, tap Apps all apps icon > Settings settings app icon > Cloud and accounts accounts settings icon.
  2. Tap Backup and restore.

    screenshot of backup and restore
  • The Backup and restore menu opens.
  1. Set options.
  • The backup and restore settings are applied and saved.
  • If you are performing a Factory data reset, follow the prompts to confirm the data removal. The phone will erase all data and reboot.

Important: After performing a Factory data reset, you will need to sign in to the phone using the same Google Account and password previously associated with the phone. If you wish to remove this restriction, you will need to remove all Google Accounts from the phone before performing the Factory data reset. See Factory Reset Protection for details.

Samsung Account Backup Settings

Enable backup of your information to your Samsung account.

  1. From home, tap Apps all apps icon > Settings settings app icon > Cloud and accounts accounts settings icon.
  2. Tap Backup and restore.

    screenshot of backup and restore
  3. Configure these options:
  • Back up my data: Enable back up of your phone log, messages and more through your Samsung account.
  • Restore: Use your Samsung account to restore your backup data.

Google Account Backup Settings

Enable backup of your information to Google servers.

  1. From home, tap Apps all apps icon > Settings settings app icon > Cloud and accounts accounts settings icon.
  2. Tap Backup and restore.

    screenshot of backup and restore
  3. Configure these options:
  • Back up my data: Enable back up of application data, Wi-Fi passwords, and other settings to Google servers.
  • Backup account: Select a Google Account to be used as your backup account.
  • Automatic restore: Enable automatic restoration of settings from Google servers. When enabled, backed-up settings are restored when you reinstall an application.