Managing Conversations

Text and multimedia messages that are sent to and received from a contact (or a number) are grouped into conversations or message threads in the Messages screen. Threaded text or multimedia messages let you see all the messages you exchange with a contact on the screen, similar to a chat program.

Read Text Messages

Note: To view the details of a particular message, in the conversation, touch and hold the message to open the options menu, and then tap View message details.

Note: If a message contains a link to a Web page, tap the message and then tap the link to open it in the Web browser.

Note: If a message contains a phone number, tap the message and then tap the phone number to dial the number or add it to your contacts.

View Multimedia Message (MMS)

  1. From home, tap messages icon Messages.
  2. From the message list, tap a message to display it.
  3. While the message is open, tap the play icon (on a video or audio file) to play back the file or tap an image to view a picture.

Note: The file attachment on a MMS message can be saved to an optional installed memory card (not included) or to your phone’s memory. Touch and hold the attachment, and then tap Save attachment. Select the attachment checkbox and tap Save.

Reply to a Message

  1. From home, tap messages icon Messages.
  2. From the message list, tap a message.
  3. Tap the Entermessage field and then type your reply message.
  4. When the message is complete, tap messages send icon Send.

Protect a Message from Deletion

You can lock a message so that it will not be deleted even if you delete the other messages in the conversation.

  1. From home, tap messages icon Messages.
  2. On the Messages screen, tap a conversation.
  3. Touch and hold the message that you want to lock.
  4. Tap Lock on the options menu. A lock icon displays at the lower right hand side of the message.

Delete a Conversation

  1. From home, tap messages icon Messages.
  2. Touch and hold the conversation you want to delete.
  3. Tap gallery delete icon Delete > Delete.

Delete Multiple Conversations

  1. From home, tap messages icon Messages.
  2. Tap options icon More options > Select.
  3. Select the conversations you want to delete, and then tap gallery delete icon Delete > Delete.

Note: Locked messages will not be deleted, unless you select the Include protected messages checkbox before confirming the deletion.

Delete a Message

  1. From home, tap messages icon Messages.
  2. While viewing a conversation, touch and hold the message that you want to delete.
  3. Tap Delete > Delete on the options menu.