Open topic with navigation
Use Messages settings to configure options for your text and multimedia messages, including message limits, size settings, and notifications.
Note: If you choose a default messaging app other than Messages (for example, Google Hangouts), you will not be able to use the Messages app unless you restore it as the default messaging app. For details, see Default Messaging App.
- Press and tap Messages.
- Tap > Settings.
- Configure message settings:
- Default messaging app: Set the default app for your phone to use for text and multimedia messages.
- Delete old messages: Choose whether to automatically delete the oldest messages when the maximum number of messages is reached. Set the maximum number of messages with the Text message limit and Multimedia message limit settings below.
- Text message limit: Set the maximum number of text messages per conversation.
- Multimedia message limit: Set the maximum number of multimedia messages per conversation.
- Text template: Create and manage text phrases that you can add to messages.
- Bubble style: Choose how messages appear on the screen. Bubbles are the boxes that surround each message.
- Background style: Choose the background of the message screen.
- Split view: When enabled, Split view divides the screen in half when the phone is in landscape orientation, and displays the message thread on one side and message contents on the other side.
- Use the volume key: When enabled, you can adjust the text size while reading a message by pressing the Volume Key up or down.
- Add signature: When enabled, a text signature is automatically added to messages you send.
- Signature text: After enabling signatures, enter a text signature.
- Auto combination: When enabled, messages that are received in multiple parts are automatically re-assembled to display as a single message. A message may be sent in multiple parts if it exceeds the maximum number of characters for a single message.
- Group messaging: Control how messages to multiple recipients are handled. When enabled, a single message is sent to multiple recipients. When disabled, a separate message is sent to each recipient.
- Auto retrieve: When enabled, message attachment(s) are automatically downloaded when you display a multimedia message. If you disable this option, only the message header displays in the message list, and you’ll be prompted to download the attachment(s).
- Roaming auto retrieve: When enabled, message attachment(s) are automatically downloaded while your phone is in roaming mode. You may want to use this setting to control whether your phone only downloads message attachments when you are within wireless network coverage.
- MMS alert: When enabled, your phone will notify you when you make a change to a message that will convert the message to a multimedia message (MMS). Typically, this is when you add an attachment or subject to a message.
- Notifications: When enabled, notifications for new messages display in the Status bar.
- Select ringtone: Choose the ringtone for new message notifications.
- Vibrate: When enabled, a vibration plays along with the ringtone for new message notifications.
- Message alert repetition: Choose how often your phone notifies you of new message(s).
- Preview message: When enabled, a preview of a new message appears in the Status bar with the message notification.
- Emergency alerts: Configure emergency alert settings. You can enable or disable some alerts: Extreme Alert, Severe Alert, Amber Alert, and Emergency alert test messages. You cannot disable Presidential alerts.
Important: The Commercial Mobile Alert System (CMAS) system provides the government the ability to send geographically targeted notifications of emergencies, such as threats to public safety, severe weather events, a hazardous material spill or a missing child in the phone user’s area.
- Emergency notification preview: Play a sample emergency alert tone. Tap Stop to cancel the playback.
- Vibrate: When enabled, a vibration plays for emergency alerts.
- Alert reminder: When enabled, your phone reminds you of emergency alerts at a time interval you choose, until you clear the notification.
- Spam settings: When enabled, your phone filters incoming messages for spam messages.
- Add to spam numbers: When Spam settings is enabled, enter telephone numbers, to automatically block messages from the numbers.
- Add to spam phrases: When Spam settings is enabled, enter text phrases, to automatically block messages as spam when they contain the phrase(s).
- Block unknown senders: When enabled, your phone automatically blocks messages from numbers that are not stored as contacts on your phone.