You are here: Making Connections > Contacts > Delete Contacts > Merge Contact Information

Merge Contact Information

If you have the same contacts on your phone, Google Account, and social network accounts such as Facebook and Twitter, your phone will try to combine them automatically or let you decide which contacts to combine. Combining the same contacts avoids duplicated entries in your contacts list.

Accept Contact Link Suggestions

When your phone finds contacts that can be merged, you’ll see a link notification when you open the People app.

  1. Tap home key > all apps icon > people app icon People.
  2. On the People tab, tap the Contact link suggestion notification when available. You’ll see a list of suggested contacts to merge.
  3. Navigate to the contact you want to merge.
  4. Tap people linked icon to merge. Otherwise, tap people unlinked icon to dismiss the link suggestion.

Note: If you don’t want to receive contact link suggestions, on the People tab, tap options icon > Settings. Clear the Suggest contact link option.

Manually Merge Contacts

You can merge your entries manually and choose the accounts to link the contact.

  1. Tap home key > all apps icon > people app icon People.
  2. On the People tab, tap the name of the contact (not the icon or photo) you want to link.
  3. Tap options icon > Link.
  4. You can:
  • Under Suggest links, tap people unlinked icon to link the contact to an account.
  • Under Add contact, tap one of the options to link to another contact.
  1. Tap Done to save the change.

Break the Link

When contact information has changed, you can choose to break the contact’s link from another account.

  1. Tap home key > all apps icon > people app icon People.
  2. On the People tab, tap the name of the contact (not the icon or photo) whose link you want to break.
  3. Tap options icon > Link.
  4. Under the Linked contacts section, tap people linked icon beside an account to break the link.
  5. Tap Done to save the change.