You are here: Getting Started > Basic Operations > Google Account > Factory Reset Protection

Factory Reset Protection

When you sign in to a Google Account on your device, Factory Reset Protection is turned on. Factory Reset Protection (FRP) prevents other people from using your device if it is reset to factory settings without your permission. For example, if your device is lost or stolen and a factory data reset is performed, only someone with your Google Account username and password can use the device.

You will not be able to access the device after a factory data reset if you do not have your Google Account username and password. For more information, see Factory Data Reset.

Caution: You should remove your Google Account before shipping your device to any service provider for service and before resetting the device to factory settings.

Enable Factory Reset Protection

Adding a Google Account to your device automatically turns on the Factory Reset Protection (FRP) security feature. No further action is necessary to turn on FRP.

Disable Factory Reset Protection

To disable FRP, remove all Google Accounts from the device.

  1. Tap home key > all apps icon > settings app icon Settings.
  2. Tap Accounts & sync.
  3. Tap the account that you want to remove.
  4. Tap menu key or options icon > Remove.
  5. Tap Remove account to confirm.

Important: Some personal data may be retained by the third-party app after you have removed the account from your phone.