Backup

Worried that you might lose important stuff on your phone? Back up your phone before you erase the storage, do a factory reset, or upgrade to a new phone.

Backup Options

Note: If you’re backing up data to the storage, don’t choose to erase the storage when you do a factory reset.

Use HTC Backup

Save the time and frustration of restoring your content when you do a factory reset or you lose, damage, or buy another phone. On your phone, use HTC Backup to do a regular backup to the cloud so you can easily restore your content next time.

HTC Backup uses your Dropbox storage to keep your content. The types of content that it can back up and restore include the following:

Turn on HTC Backup to do a daily backup of your content over WiFi. You can turn it on by selecting Back up phone daily while doing the on-device setup, or enable it in Settings.

Note: Turning on HTC Backup will disable backup of settings to Google servers.

To back up your phone using HTC Backup:

  1. Slide the Notifications panel open, and then touch Settings > Backup & reset.
  2. Touch the Backup On/Off switch.
  3. Choose HTC Account as your backup account, and sign in to your account.

Note: You can sign in with your HTC Account or Facebook account.

If you’re already signed into your Google Account, touch it to change your backup account to your HTC Account.

  1. Sign in to Dropbox, if you haven’t done so.

Once your phone has finished backing up, you’ll see the last backup date and time under Backup history. To manually start a backup, touch Back up now under Backup history.

To restore content to your phone:

If you used HTC Backup to back up your phone, you can restore your content after a factory reset, or to a new HTC phone over Wi‑Fi.

  1. Turn on your phone, choose to restore content, and then select Restore from HTC Backup on the Set up phone screen.
  2. Sign in using your HTC Account or Facebook, depending on which account you used to back up your phone before.
  3. Sign in to Dropbox, and choose to allow HTC Backup to access Dropbox. Your backup history will then be displayed.
  4. Select a backup, and then touch Next.
  5. Wait for your accounts and settings to be restored.
  6. Touch OK to continue restoring your previously installed apps.

Use Your Google Account to Back Up Your Phone

You can use your Google account to back up your phone's data and settings.

  1. Slide the Notifications panel open, and then touch Settings > Backup & reset.
  2. Touch the Backup On/Off switch.
  3. Touch the current backup option, and then touch Google.
  4. Select the backup account.